(Poetry) 6 Feet Under

Along with reams of short stories, and longer attempts at fiction, I’ve written countless poems over the decades. The bulk were written in my teens and twenties and I literally have folders full of handwritten and typewritten compositions.

I’d been threatening to put a selection into print since the mid-90’s. I remember discussing it with an old girlfriend in ’95 but a number of things always seemed to stop me. Part of that was not really being sure if I wanted to share them with the world, part was never having the time to go through what was amounting to thousands of bits of paper – ranging from typed and formatted finished compositions to hand written stanzas on the back of paper bags, or anything I had at hand when inspiration hit.

A few years ago I finally got round to sorting out a collection and published them under the title “Wild Card Symphonies”. Consisting of three smaller volumes of my work, “Wild Card Symphonies”, “Cry To Me”, and “This Graveyard Heart”, the book totaled just over 120 poems. You can buy a copy (plug plug) through Lulu on one of the links at the bottom of the page if you like what you read and want to have more.

6 Feet Under

There’s a lonely little man

Sitting in his room without windows,

His personal world without friends.

He knows just what he wants to say,

He dreams of the things he wishes he could do,

But the fears too great inside.

He wishes he could be like you.

He wants to scream out loud,

But he can’t because he’s forgotten how to.

He wants to go outside,

But he’s been in here for too long.

He knows the right words

And the right time to say them,

He’s rehearsed his lines a thousand times over

But has no cause to use them.

He wants to be able to join the games

But it’s been so long.

The envy of you grows inside him,

And he retreats further into the cracks

That have torn through his power

To make him what he is today.

If tomorrow never came

Nobody would mourn him,

If anybody came to put him away,

It wouldn’t be any lonelier

Just another room without windows.

(6 FEET UNDER; By A R J Abranson; 21-12-95/14:03)

My poetry anthology, Wild Card Symphonies, is available to buy now on Lulu in both Softcover and Dust Jacket Hardcover.


Wild Card Symphonies, Cry To Me & This Graveyard Heart are Copyright ©2015, Angus Abranson. All rights reserved.
Cover design by George C. Cotronis (Ravenkult Studios, www.ravenkult.com) Copyright © 2015 Angus Abranson
The moral right of the author has been asserted.
No reproduction in part or in whole without prior written permission from the author of the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s