(Poetry) Nothing But A Broken Dream

Along with reams of short stories, and longer attempts at fiction, I’ve written countless poems over the decades. The bulk were written in my teens and twenties and I literally have folders full of handwritten and typewritten compositions.

I’d been threatening to put a selection into print since the mid-90’s. I remember discussing it with an old girlfriend in ’95 but a number of things always seemed to stop me. Part of that was not really being sure if I wanted to share them with the world, part was never having the time to go through what was amounting to thousands of bits of paper – ranging from typed and formatted finished compositions to hand written stanzas on the back of paper bags, or anything I had at hand when inspiration hit.

A few years ago I finally got round to sorting out a collection and published them under the title “Wild Card Symphonies”. Consisting of three smaller volumes of my work, “Wild Card Symphonies”, “Cry To Me”, and “This Graveyard Heart”, the book totaled just over 120 poems. You can buy a copy (plug plug) through Lulu on one of the links at the bottom of the page if you like what you read and want to have more.

Nothing But A Broken Dream

See through your eyes

Of tainted glass

Tell me your lies

That I believe.

Like snakes in the grass

Hiding from their prey

Your mouth tells the stories

But your eyes betray you.

Your eyes betray you.

You can’t keep silent

From the animals that hunt

Walking the streets

Stalking your dreams

They’re out to get you

Even if you run

To comforting arms

Or the security of high places

That only memories may find.

I’ve never had broken dreams

And I’ve never felt pain like that

It tears my heart a million times

To look into the faces of the blind

Who listen to every lie you speak

And believe every word that you say

With unwavering conviction.

(NOTHING BUT A BROKEN DREAM; By A R J Abranson; 14-03-93/14:13; 03-01-94/23:47)

My poetry anthology, Wild Card Symphonies, is available to buy now on Lulu in both Softcover and Dust Jacket Hardcover.


Wild Card Symphonies, Cry To Me & This Graveyard Heart are Copyright ©2015, Angus Abranson. All rights reserved.
Cover design by George C. Cotronis (Ravenkult Studios, www.ravenkult.com) Copyright © 2015 Angus Abranson
The moral right of the author has been asserted.
No reproduction in part or in whole without prior written permission from the author of the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s